Types of ratings

A NABERSNZ Certified Rating gives a star rating, from 0 to 6, that clearly shows your building’s energy performance compared to others.

There are 3 kinds of rating:

  • Base building
  • Tenancy
  • Whole building

A base build rating measures the energy performance of a building’s core services – lifts, stairwell lighting, common toilets, air conditioning and ventilation etc.

A tenancy rating measures just the floors/areas occupied exclusively by the tenant, including energy use such as computers, lighting, data centres, and staff kitchens.

A whole building rating combines base building and tenancy.

How is NABERSNZ different to Green Star?

The Green Star rating tool is used during design and construction, to assess the environmental aspects of buildings. Energy is just one of the criteria Green Star assesses.

NABERSNZ looks solely at energy performance, and is used once buildings are occupied and operating for a year or more.